Mama, it’s a surprise for you

surpriseToday was an amazing day. Today I received an amazing present, a huge smile on a tiny face and the most important thing: a great moment to remember.

Today, my dear almost 2.5 year old daughter ran towards me with her hand full of tiny white rocks: “Mama, it’s a surprise for you”

She opened her tiny hand and poured the rocks into mine, “it’s a present” she said, with a smile on her face. I smiled back, and with an enthusiastic voice, I thanked her for having given me the present she had carefully carried and had chosen to give to me. She ran back, gathered some more rocks and ran back towards me to bring them, so I thanked her again.

I have asked her to keep those white rocks for me and poured them into her tiny hands. She looked at me and said, “those are yours, no one will take them” – “No one” i replied, “No one”.

She “played” for almost an hour, filling plastic cups with those small white rocks, preparing presents for mama, dad and neighbours.

That was a fantastic day because I didn’t interrupt her, I didn’t mind her getting dirty and just watched her having fun…

Today was a fantastic day because I was able to be thankful for rocks, for those tiny moments that make a different. By really being thankful I was able to make her happy. By being thankful I was able to enjoy all the dirt on her tiny hands and clothe.

Today was a fantastic day because this precious moment of play made other moments precious and suddenly everything was easy.

Today was just a fantastic day

Leave a Reply

