Montessori anyone?

montessoriA great friend of mine sent me this video that introduced me to the Montessori approach in just a few minutes. I have heard about the Montessori approach before, and liked it because I thought it was cute – but I just had the vision of small furniture, mattresses on the floor and tiny wooden toys… everything at the child’s level – that was Montessori to me.

Look at those happy and well-behaved kids!

Well, some might say that it’s just a few minutes video, and yes, of course it is – but still, this little Hazel is just amazing. Those little kids are patient, social and they seem to enjoy themselves so much. Little Hazel, finishes what she started and expresses herself so beautifully – she is so proud of herself when she finishes to set the table. Look at the “teachers”, the way they talk is so empowering, they ask questions and listen!

3 months ago, after reading a considerable amount of blogs, tips, parenting approaches summaries and watching educating videos, I found the RIE approach that I could relate to – like a revelation. I feel quite the same about Montessori too… Look at those happy, confident kids, isn’t that beautiful?

Those respectful parenting approaches are just “revolutionary” they look so simple, they make sense to me, and feel so right once I get to know them – yet, they are not intuitive at all as they are the opposite of most new parent instincts… Not helping my child – Is that really what you meant???? no really, seriously????

This system of education is based on two important developmental needs of children:

  1. The need for freedom within limits
  2. A carefully prepared environment which guarantees exposure to materials and experiences.

It is so important because: “The most important period of life is not the age of university studies, but the first one, the period from birth to the age of six. For that is the time when man’s intelligence itself, his greatest implement is being formed. But not only his intelligence; the full totality of his psychic powers… At no other age has the child a greater need of an intelligent help, and any obstacle that impedes his creative work will lessen the chance he has of achieving perfection.” (Dr. Montessori)

I want my Sarah to be prepared for life with the best tools – not the best toys, not the best books, not the best clothes… but prepared for life with a great mind and a great attitude toward herself and others. I want her to be confident, respectful, independent yet social and a problem solver… Thank you dear Susanne for this great video, you opened my mind.

Here is the video

Hazel Sets Table from Montessori Guide on Vimeo.

2 thoughts on “Montessori anyone?

    • Hi Miss L. It’s never too late! I have just started with my almost 2.5 year-old daughter. Respectful parenting (there are a lot of guidance and approaches, and although I’m new to it, they make sense) is the way I have chosen to parent from now. Those approaches are very deep and it’s just the beginning, 1 step at a time, implementing just 1 thing today is a beginning

      Like

Leave a Reply

